University of Ghana Signs Memorandum of Understanding with Affiliated Colleges of Education

A new four-year Bachelor of Education curriculum to be run by the School of Education and Leadership under the College of Education, was launched in May this year, as part of an initiative by government, aimed at improving teaching and learning in the country.

As part of the initiatives, all basic school teachers in Ghana would be required to study for and attain a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed.) degree aligned to the National Teacher Education Curriculum Framework (NTECF) and delivered by the 46 public Colleges of Education in the country. The new curriculum will be rolled out in October 2019 in all the 46 public Colleges of Education, which have been affiliated to five public universities.

The new curriculum aims at encouraging creativity in the teaching of Mathematics, Science and Technology and the development of transferable skills and desire for life-long learning for all learners. The curriculum also seeks to enable learners to apply knowledge and skills innovatively in a way that will transform lives and drive the country’s economy for sustained development.

In line with this, six Colleges of Education have been affiliated to the University of Ghana for the purpose of running of the new programme. These are; Accra College of Education, Enchi College of Education, Evangelical Presbyterian College of Education at Amedzofe, Peki College of Education, Gbewaa College of Education at Pusiga and Mount Mary College of Education at Somanya.


At a brief ceremony, the University of Ghana signed memoranda of Understanding with its affiliated Colleges, to guide the relationship between the University and its affiliates, and also ensure effective delivery to all stakeholders.   The MOUs highlight the duties of the University of Ghana as the mentoring institution, to ensure quality and delivery of programmes at the Colleges, and also address issues such as admissions, recruitment and upgrading of academic staff, and development and review of curricula.



The Pro-Vice-Chancellor with officials from the Accra College of Education

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor in charge of Academic and Student Affairs, Professor Kwame Offei, signed on behalf of the University, with the Registrar, Mrs. Mercy Haizel Ashia as witness, with Dr. Ebenezer Malcalm and Rev. Sylvanus Tettey signing on behalf of the Peki College of Education; Dr. Samuel A. Atintono, Mrs. Elizabeth Aikins and Mr. Clement Afriyie Oppong from the Accra College of Education; and Dr. Dickson Tsey and Mr. Henry Agbleze from the E.P College of Education, Amedzofe.



Speaking at the ceremony, Pro-Vice Chancellor Offei noted that the University of Ghana has positioned itself to assist and support the affiliated Colleges of Education to grow and to achieve their mandates. He stated that UG hopes that the signed agreements would strengthen the mutual relationship and lead to meaningful collaborations not only between the University and the Colleges of Education, but also between the various Colleges.

Rev. Sylvanus Tettey, Principal of the College of Education, Peki speaking on behalf of the Principals, said the Colleges would work with the University to ensure that the terms of the MOUs are strictly adhered to, and to guarantee that expected standards are established and maintained.

At a later date, officials from the remaining three Colleges signed the agreement on behalf of their respective colleges. Mr. Philip Ntaah and Professor Samuel Famiyeh signed on behalf of the Enchi College of Education; Dr. Cecilia E. Agbeh and Mr. Samuel A. Darkwa, for the Mount Mary College of Education and Dr. David A. Ayaaba and Mr. Alhassan Akudugu for the Gbewaa College of Education.

 Other UG officials present at the signing ceremonies included Professor Jonathan Fletcher, Acting Dean of the School of Education and Leadership, Dr. Olivia Anku Tsede, Legal Counsel, Professor Reginald Ocansey, Head of the Department of Physical Education and Sport Studies, Dr. Paul Butakor, Co-ordinator of the B Ed programme, Dr. Ernest Ampadu, Head of the Department of Teacher Education, Mrs. Emelia Agyei-Mensah, College Secretary, College of Education, and Mrs. Elizier Ameyaw-Buronyah, School Administrator, School of Education and Leadership.

Pictures from the ceremony